Sunday, 17 October 2010

Sunday Oct 17th - A bit of RETAIL therapy

No big blue sky today.... an odd cloudy looking day.... and was at a loose end.

Decided to head to a local mall and maybe catch a flick. My favourite taxi driver showed up to my call for transport - it's only about 6 miles down the road but no buses or trains and I ain't walking down the Parkway.

The centre is ... you guessed it.... BIG.... 24 cinema theatres on the 3rd floor. All major department stores - Macy's, jcpenny, Dillard's, ikea etc etc

Not a very exciting day but found a few interesting tit bits:

  • Billy carts with handles are the vehicle of choice for transporting kids over a distance. Saw these everywhere at the Fair and then again at the Mall today. Strap ya kids in and push them in front of you!
  • UGG boots AUSTRALIA are everywhere. Very very expensive with styles and varieties I have never seen before. Minimum price $130
  • Halloween is big business.. heaps of stores selling all sorts of crap
  • Had one of the best steaks I have ever had for lunch - perfectly cooked - came with spinach and you guessed it .... deep fried onion rings at a place called The Cheesecake Restaurant. Kez would have been beside herself with the varieties and the size of the slices (didn't have any so don't know if they tasted as good as they looked)
  • Aussies are British... was told today by a store clerk
  • Saw are great new movie coming out - RED (Retired Extremely Dangerous). Has Bruce Willis, Morgan Freeman and Helen Mirren as retired CIA agents.... thoroughly recommended if you want a bit of death and destruction
This time next week I will be home.... and it cant come soon enough... am over the food and the lack of transport....and am missing my boys.

Night y'awl.

Saturday, 16 October 2010

Saturday Oct 16th - Ya want that FRIED?

 
Did I tell you it was ..
TRUCK MONTH?

Another big blue sky this morning. What am I going to do with myself today.



Some photo's below of the scape around my hotel so you can get a feel for the vastness....
  
From the rear of the hotel... this kind
of space is usual
 
more from the back of the hotel
  Slept late and spent a couple of hours trying to organise something to do today and the transport to make it happen. Gotta tell ya it is the single most frustrating experience!!! Even got to the point where I thought stuff it I will hire a car... no ma'am, by midday any car hires places within 10miles were closed and of course do not open for drop off on Sunday. If I wanted to go the 25miles back to the airport and do a pick up / drop off well that would be fine... GRRRRR!!!!


From the front looking up the Dallas Parkway to Plano
There is about  7 lanes each way

From the front looking down the Dallas Parkway
to Dallas
The taxi's are generally unreliable so I was at a loss and then decided to bite the bullet and go to the Texas State Fair. Had the hotel order a taxi to take me in, my plan was to word up the driver (considering the size of the fare -  about $60) to see if he would be in the Fair area about 7pm so I can call him to pick me up, if all failed I would train it as close as I could get to Plano (would leave me 9 miles short) and then call the hotel and beg for a courtesy pick up.

The gods were on my side, got a great driver (Jordanian) who is in the middle of completing his paperwork to immigrate to Australia... couldn't do enough for me, even asked if I would like to join his family for lunch tomorrow :)

The Fair Ground is about 27miles from Plano on the other side of the Dallas CBD. The freeway was fine until we got closer in and realised with the Texas Rangers playing this afternoon, EVERYONE seemed to be heading for Arlington Ballpark and blogging our exits!

Driver dropped me at a Macca's down the street from one of the gates. The DPD (Dallas Police) had all roads around the Fair Ground blocked and working traffic duty as they blow whistles and yell at disrespecting drivers.

Gate 6 - Entry Point


Fair entry - $15, and then you have to buy coupons to go on any rides, play any sideshow games or get food and drink.

The only places accepting cash or credit were the Coupon Kiosks.






The garbage bin...



$10 gives you 20 coupons and they don't last long
  • Beer = 10 coupons (if you want to drink Miller or Miller Lite or Bud..bluh!!)
  • Lemonade (American style which I do love) = 6 coupons
  • Fried anything = 8 to 14 coupons
  • Frozen margaritas = 13 coupons
  • Most rides > 12 coupons
  • Most sideshow games > 6 coupons (almost every woman and child in the place seemed to have won one of those huge stuff toys) 

Isn't he Gorgeous...

First stop was the bird show. Just caught the last couple of minutes. This fella was my pick up the bunch; you might just see the talons wrapped around his keeper's glove.

Then it was down one of the hundreds of sideshow and food alleys.

I spent 5 hours here are I think I made it around about half of the fair... it must be about 4 times the size of the Sydney Royal Easter show.

There are home improvement halls, auto shows, dog shows, creatives, aquariums, reptile centres, many many country bands, a train exhibition, indigenous peoples shows and the usual heaps and heaps of crap :)



I did ride the skyway across to the other side of the Fair, but didn't like the look of the queue for the ferris wheel so gave that one a miss. Would have been some great shots of the fair and Dallas from up there... oh well

Early in the afternoon - come 4pm this was packed
with people
 


Wandered into the automobile show and what should I see but the Chevrolet's. Mmmmm this Pontiac is super cool!!! I have seen them on the road from time to time and they look great....






International boulevard where I thought you would find international food etc stands... oh no..... just more and more fried food.... but oh... that's right there were Belgian Waffles :0)

Talking of fried food - check out the below.... the food stand all where trying to out do each other with what they could fry. I did try fried marshmallows.... sugary goo in a crisp batter....mmmm..... wont be doing that again. The queues for the fried oreos and snickers were just crazy.

Fried Lemonade anyone?

Check out the queues for this stuff.... amazing... what did I say about Americans and Carbs


On to the Dog Show ... did take some good video to share so lets see if that works... you may have to turn your head to watch it cause I cant figure out how to rotate it.

4 Dobermans, 1 of them was a gold colour which I have never seen before, a mini collie and a long haired chihuahua and then there was also Barbie.





Lots of great tricks, and I was going to stay for the greasy pig race but meant another hour hanging around this area which was wall to wall people, so passed and headed back to the other side of the fair. Took me about 75 min to get over the other side.

Met up with my taxi driver about 7 and finally safe back at the hotel. Was looking to see what great boots or hats I could get at the fair... so a few interesting things... but when it came down to it $$ and having to carry it around the show meant I lost interest pretty quick.... so Ma... no 10 gallon hat (yet!). Though I did get myself a custom made belt (leather) for $25 which I thought a bargain. Didn't get a fancy belt buckle though... you need to see the pattern on the leather so know that would be just TOO much.

Was going to head to the movies tonight with some girls from work, but they over loaded on the fried food at the fair so have given it a miss. They arrived as I was leaving and were heading straight to the nearest fried butter stand :<

Pizza delivered for dinner tonite as by the time I was in the mood for dinner the shuttle had stopped running between the hotel and Legacy.

Note to self - Aussies do better pizza!!!

Good night y'all.

Friday, 15 October 2010

Friday October 15th - It's BIGGER in TEXAS

Been in Dallas for 2 days now and gotta say I love the wide open space. It's truly incredible how even in the corporate areas the space is amazing. Next to the office in Plano there are rolled hay bales in the field next door :-D

Everyone drives everywhere. There are no small cars... well I think I have seen 2 mini's in all the time I have been in the US. Here mid-size is the smallest and they get much bigger... SUVs are the tool of choice with duel cab. Petrol is about $2.94 per gallon, not sure what that equates to, but just thought I would remember it to tell you.

Temperature is cooler than LA, about the same as it is in Sydney this time of year, but BIG blue skies.

Taxi's are hopeless.. you have to rely on shuttle buses (if there is one) or someone with a car. A couple of times I have considered hiring a car to remind myself that it's probably not a smart idea! The turnpikes and freeways are phenomenal, and make the Warringah Freeway or M7 look like a dinky country road.

I keep looking twice at the Corvette's gotta say I love the sound of them :) but my favourite looking car so far is the Pontiac Solstice (http://www.1iverating.com/item/1273/7/Pontiac-Solstice/) there is one in the car park at work... and I keep admiring it... haven't managed to find who owns it yet.

The people in the office are super friendly and couldn't be more helpful. A couple are a touch arrogant in the usual American alpha male way.... but in all it's no biggie. I love the accent of the southern folk, even the Texan accent is not so bad. But listening to those southern belles from Louisiana or Mississippi is just too cool (reminds of True Blood - the Foxtel show) .... and when I am introduced.... they rave about my accent which is a bit embarrassing.

The office is heavily decorated for Halloween with cobwebs, pumpkins, spiders and skeletons hanging everywhere. Today was 'bosses day', so the teams bought all the bosses cards and gifts....  don't think we have that in Aus :)

Of the 4 founders of the company I had met 2, and yesterday I met number 3 (number 4 has just retired). Nathan is a pocket dynamo.... oh my... this amazing vision about how the social media sites such as facebook, twitter, flickr, yelp + others are going to define the way products and services are marketed and sold going forward. If I thought the other 2 had a wow factor, then Nathan is off the richter scale. He was supportive and up front and I came away hoping I can actually do the job they are confident that I can.

Had lunch with the VP of Global Learning. He took me to a Texan BBQ, and I had a pulled pork sandwich... was seeing if the Texans could redeem the debacle I had in LA.... well this was lovely.... tasty luscious pork on a really fresh warm bun with lashings of gravy.... mmm mmm mmm... and a traditional Texan potato salad on the side.... and I gotta say it was good.... dressing reminded me of corn relish dip in a way.... that probably sounds gross... but am gonna see if I can replicate it at home cause it was YUM!!   

Dinner last night and tonite was around at the Legacy Town Centre... the mall a few streets away from the hotel... not too far - you could walk it but at night it's not well lit and there aren't any footpaths (no need everyone drives) so have been using the hotel shuttle to take me over.

It's a very pretty suburban centre with heaps of restaurants and cafes. Last night was an Italian sausage and goats cheese pizza at CRU, with a tasting flight... which is small wines of a similar grape and style. I had Flight 3 - Italian Gems:
  • Maretime, Pinot Grigio '09 - Della Venezie, Italy
  • Colterenzio '08, Alto Adige, Italy
  • Frattina '08, Friuli-Venezia-Giuala, Italy
All were very nice.

The Cru bar was quite nice, it was a shame to be there without my boy... he would have enjoyed the wine list which was interesting.

Tonite - was Thai.... I was dying for vege's of some sort. And, the Texas Rangers are playing of the New York Yankees in the Baseball World Series play offs so all the bars and restaurants are packed with people watching the game. I finally understood why everyone in the office today was wearing red TEXAS shirts.... d'oh!!!

Don't know what's on tomorrow - wanted to get down to Fort Worth, but without a car, and the lack of any type of day tripper tourist thing it's not looking hopeful. One of the girls at work was keen on doing lunch tomorrow so we'll see what happens, and Sunday I plan on going to the Texas State Fair. Apparently you can get fried beer and fried margaritas.... and there is plenty of wild life to watch....so that's sound like some fun!!! hopefully lotsa photo's to share from that.

the trees all decorated with fairy lights at Legacy Town Centre

Look down the street in front of all the restaurants

Wednesday 13th: Death by Powerade

Flying to Texas later this afternoon. Why is it that repacking a bag is always harder then packing it.... nothing seems to fit the same way.

 
I'm glad I don't live in the US, my god, I would end up super sized more than I already am. All meals are huge!!! And sided, with fries, potato chips or bloody hash browns and not the crispy yummy hash browns from Maccas either... Carbs are the American friend!!!!

Had an omelette this morning for brekkie that turned out to be a 3 egg monstrosity with, yep, you got it, broken up hash browns on the side. Half the omelette would have been enough, and definitely passed on the cardboard tasting has browns. Tea comes with lemon and honey..... have to ask for milk, then its full fat, 2% FAT or non-fat ma'am?? Gee I think it's gonna be a long 2 weeks.

While I was eating brekkie i was watching the squirrels play in the garden. They are just too cute..... sometimes you see them running across the drive way early in the morning.... never seem to see any squished ones :)

On the way to the office this morning I bought a bottle of water and a bottle of red powerade.  I mean I had a long commute so wanted to make sure I didn't get thirsty.

I found an easier commute last night - straight out the hotel back door..... 40metres and into the office.. nice!!! Cut 60 metres off my trip.

Every morning a man dressed in suit and tie stands at the door and opens/ closes the door to everyone entering or exiting the office. Every morning I made a point of talking to him cause OMG.... I couldn't think of a more boring job..... he loved my accent.... and was an Italian American who's Mum came from Boston and Dad from southern Italy..... he had the oiled swept back hair and the really strong accent you hear in the mobster movies.... just like sopranos. He wanted to know if koalas bite, 'cause they are big bears aren't they??'

Anyway back to the powerade.... was going through my notes at my desk, pretty much open plan with only the 'founders' having offices (and very fancy ones too).... I cracked open my powerade and took a big swig of a nice cold drink... OMG...... I almost choked.... what did the yanks do to the red powerade.... it tasted like a cough medicine Mum used to give is when we were kids (elixophlin I think it was called).... filthy disgusting stuff.... I almost blew the stuff across the office.

Well the young things around me almost busted a belt laughing at me. That was the most disgusting thing I had tasted..... nasty nasty nasty. Will never be able to drink red powerade ever again.

Today was a short day in the office with the flight to DALLAS mid afternoon. Pretty impressive day thought. Two of the founders of the company took the time to spend time with me. I have worked in alot of IT organisations and never have the founders of multinational companies worth hundreds of millions of dollars taken time out to spend with a new employee. Both very down to earth guys interested in my plans for the Customer Service business for ReachLocal in Australia... both offered differing sets of advice and were open, interested and passionate in their belief in ReachLocal..... I think for the first time I truly understood that staff at ReachLocal bleed Orange (which is the corporate colour). These guys were pretty incredible and if this company achieves 50% of what these guys are planning I am in a very exciting place.

I got to LAX about 2.30pm and it took about an hour to go through all the security checks.

Geezzzzzzz........ cars were being stopped and search on the way in, the taxis / shuttles were let straight through, but if you were dropping someone off at departures, prepare for your car to be screened.

Into the departures terminal of American Airlines... and this is how the process goes:
  1. Line up at a web kiosk (like virgin) and check yourself in.
  2. Record how many bags you are carrying and pay for each bag - that will be $60 please (glad this is being expensed)
  3. Line up and at the bag drop, answer questions about why you are in US and have the luggage tags put on your bags
  4. Line up at TSA bag screening point with bags
  5. Answer questions - are you carrying a fire arm or do you have fire arms in your luggage (umm - gee not that I know of), do you have TSA luggage locks on your bag so we can easily open your bag for searching (No... I guess I will have to wait whilst you decide whether or not to open my bags)
  6. Watch your luggage get scanned then get the OK to go through the security checkpoint
  7. Line up in the checkpoint, take of your shoes and all jewellery, have a full body scan, as all your hand luggage is scanned.
  8. Finally get to the gate to the plane.... in total about an hour! Feeling a little paranoid at this point.
Had my first celebrity sighting.

Trace Adkins (country and western singer: http://www.traceadkins.com/wired/) walked right by me and stood waiting at our gate. He was in the first seat on the aisle in the front of the plane as I walked on board... wow! When you think cowboy .. think Trace.... he would be 6'5 and has the broad shoulders and slim waist... big belt buckle and massive stetson and great cowboy boots .... just wee bit of eye candy even if I dont know his music so well.

Uneventful trip to DALLAS, but on one of those really cool jets...(http://www.aa.com/i18n/aboutUs/ourPlanes/boeingMD80.jsp).... only 2 seats on each side of the plane. Was a 3 1/2 hour trip to Dallas, with a +2hrs time difference. Got in about 1015pm, then caught the shuttle and finally got to my room about 1130pm. Bloody exhausted....

By the way crossed over the President George Bush Turnpike :) That made me smile just a little bit.... of course only in Texas.

Roads are wide, building are big and set way back from the road and it's flat flat and flat.... 

Tuesday, 12 October 2010

Tuesday October 12th

Another busy day in the office. Yesterday was a late start as i didn't to be in until 1000, but didn't get away until after 630pm. Today was an earlier one as had a meeting that started at 0830, so had to drag myself into an early start of oh gee..... 0745... have a long commute you see.... about 50m :)

So still struggling with the tipping thing... breakfast arrived yesterday morning and the bill said + tax + service charge of 18%... is that the tip.... anyway i hesitated and I think the poor waiter thought he was going to get some more... well... nope.... I'll risk it I thought... may mean I dont get brekkie tomorrow :)

Took a couple of the guys from work out to lunch and we went across the road to a tavern type of thing .... food was typically bloody ordinary... what is it with the bland super sized american plate.

Ordered a 'pulled pork sandwich'... no that's not a very happy pig!!

Anyway pork was lovely and tender but was on an over sized doughy bread roll with a massive plate of skinny fries and a tiny bowl of zucchini, corn and mushroom masquerading as the steam veg. One of the guys order an iced tea and lemonade.... not lemonade as in sprite, but American lemonade which is a but like lemony mountain dew. Had a funny name but for the life of me I cant remember what it is..... the bloody mary happy hour has kicked in!!

Tim Tams for office 1 delivered along with 1 massive packet of Smarties. Baggage about 2kg lighter... but Kez jeans will take up that slack.

Remainder of Tim Tams held back for Office 2 & 3.

So the bar fridge in the room is bare... I mean not even bottles of water... cant make a cup of tea .... need to order it through room service..... though I can walk down the hall and fill up an massive ice bucket with free ice..... hmmm... strike anyone as odd?

So my accent has been mimicked.... but everyone is really curious about Aus. Only a few have travelled outside the states, and even fewer outside California. Have this guy who is your typical Italian American... hey dude - word up!! My response to that is supposed to be 'sweet - giddy up'.... no farkin idea what it means though..

Finally found a place today tucked away where I could buy a plain old chicken sandwich or so I thought..
1. What bread would you that on - wheat, rye, sour dough
2. Mayo or Chili
3. Jack, Provolone or ?? Cheese
4. Toasted or as it comes

My god just give me a chicken and salad bloody sandwich.

Weather has been fabulous. Though this morning the fog was so thick i thought I was experiencing LA smog. Everyone drives here.... even the folks who live walking distance drive. We are in the San Fernando valley so it is as flat as a pancake..... even I might consider a bike ride if it wasn't so bloody HOT!!!

Spent last night downstairs in the hotel bar having dinner. Was surrounded by LA criminal judges who were attending some sort of seminar. It was a learning experience listening to them debate the issues from a Republican vs Democrat point of view and be highly passionate. And Monday night football was on at the same time, so if they were arguing politics they were arguing football. Cheap entertainment typifying every conception about Americans.

The local TV is full is disparaging advertisement for political campaign contenders... reminds me of home.... plenty of name calling, innuendo and distorted facts. Truly ripping apart one female contender who 'offshored hundreds of jobs to India and then gave herself a multi million dollar pay rise'.... or so they say.


Speaking of TV I almost fell out of bed laughing as a pharmaceutical company ran an add for an anti-inflammatory... but the verbal rider at the end of the ad said .... ' possible side affects are mental disorders causing depression and suicide, muscle pain, dizziness, blurred vision and insomnia... so if you experience any of these symptoms please see your practitioner immediately'....yet it's OK to release to the public as long as we warn you that you could decide to kill yourself if you take it.... is there something wrong with this picture or it just me?

Signing off for tonite.... heading to DALLAS tomorrow afternoon so need to get my shit together and re-pack and get something dull and boring to eat! god I am missing my meat and 3 veg!!! and of course my boys!!! <3

Love to all from your CRIBBIN' OZZIE

Sunday, 10 October 2010

Sunday October 10th - Hollywood or Bust!

Had the alarm set for 630, with the plan of havin brekkie and then hitting the early public transport into town.... what a joke.... hit snooze and woke up at 0745... now if I am going to make town by 0930 I have to move my fat ass!!!

Out the door at 0800 and with directions from the 'At Your Service Attendant' I found my way to the Orange Metro Bus. $6 for an all day pass on any Metro... woop woop!

Buses every ten minutes with timing boards so you know just how long you'll be waiting, and...... it was on time.... 50minutes to North Hollywood and then another 10 or so minutes to Hollywood & Highland. Some interesting folks about, saw my first Californian Real Life barbie as I walk onto Hollywood Blvde. All boobs, legs, long blond hair and bling sunnies..... with some muscle manic dude hanging all over her.

It's hot here... about 31deg ... no humidity, but is searing as it ricochets of the concrete everywhere. Plenty of Aussies about, here the accents quite a bit.

Got onto the hop on / hop off tour bus and did a circuit of LA. Pikkies below. Just about every street corner or bar or restaurant has had some brush with fame :)

Got off at the Farmers Market for a walk around. What an interesting place.... you can get everything from a pumpkin to designer clothes. Fantastic book stores here.... just love the vibe when you walk into them....

I don't know what it is but....  the TV makes LA look so glossy but it's just like any other big grotty city. I really had forgotten how big this place is.... it makes Sydney look like a country town.

Beverly Hills was an eye opener with the wide streets with grassy side walks and greenery between street lanes. Hidden garbage can so they don't sully the look of the area and fire hydrants painted silver so they blend better with the outlook. I hadn't seen Rodeo Drive before either.... lavish doesn't even begin to describe it.. it's a little disgusting... given so many people here are on the breadline and losing their jobs.

After about 3 hours I made it back to Hollywood & Vine, grabbed McDonald's for lunch... yes I know of the thousands of choice available I chose Maccas... it's out of the heat and quite cold in there and I knew what I was gonna get and how much it was going to cost.

Keep forgetting here that the ticketed price does NOT include the tax (GST). So keep getting surprised, but I guess I will get used to it... bit like crossing the road and forgetting that the cars are on the right.... so it's right, left, right.... wonder how long it takes before I frighten some poor driver by stepping off the curb!

I do wish I was going to be here in LA on Oct 17 - the Hoodoo Gurus are playing the Viper Room.... how cool would that be!!!


Chinese Theatre where the foot and handprints are in concrete. Forgot to go back and get photo's BUGGER!!

Looking across Hollywood Blvde to the Kodak Theatre where they hold the Academy Awards

couldnt walk past this one without a photo



Hollywood & Vine.... would love to know how many times that phrase has been used in TV or the movies




Farmers Market and the Grove dancing fountain.

Dancing to the beat of the music.... it was too cool




More Farmers Market

LA Museum



LA Brea Tar Pits - crude oil seeps to the surface through fissures in the Earth's crust; the light fraction of the oil evaporates, leaving behind the heavy tar, or asphalt, in sticky pools



Automobile Museum



John Wayne




Looking down Santa Monica Blvde



Looking into Rodeo Drive,,, photo really doesn't do it justice for just how much it smells of money

Minimum $15000 for a suit!!!! and cant just walk in off the street you have to make a booking

more Rodeo








Hoodoos playing on the 17th.... see the sign :)

View across LA





Chateau Marmont.... lots of famous residents and deaths here!


Charlies Angel's house!!